Surf Lessons: Hawaiian Culture & Safety Focus

Discover authentic Hawaiian surf lessons in Waikiki. Learn from native instructors, embrace local culture, and ride your first wave with confidence.

Duration: 2 hours
Cancellation: 24 hours
Highlights
  • 2411 Kalākaua Ave - Embark on an exhilarating surfing adventure at a renowned surf spot with this exclusive one-on-one surf lesson in Waikiki, Honolulu. Partner with a dedicated surf instructor and head to the beach to learn crucial safety protocols, understand ocean conditions, and master fundamental techniques. Then, plunge into the water and…
What's Included
  • Surfboards
  • Guide
What's Not Included
  • Bottled water
Additional Information

We are a locally owned Hawaiian business located on the island of Oahu, offering high-quality lessons at affordable prices. Our surf instructors are Native Hawaiian watermen, born and raised on the islands. We have a profound connection to the land, sea, and culture, passed down through generations.
At Hawaiian Boy Surf School, we are passionate about…

Location
Duke Paoa Kahanamoku Statue
Kalākaua Avenue
Meeting points for surf lessons will be at the famous Duke Kahanamoku statue
Cancellation Policy

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours before the scheduled departure time.

Customer Ratings
4.1
(35 Ratings)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Martha_h
Oct 30, 2025
Great instructor! Had a... - Great instructor! Had a lot of fun, would recommend to anyone looking to learn how to surf or trying to improve.
Review provided by Viator
Shanehg4126ek
Sep 11, 2025
Hawaiian boy surfing school - Great lesson. My girlfriend and I both caught a wave just like he garanteed. Very knowledgeable, patient, and friendly. I'd recommend to anyone that wants to surf
Review provided by Tripadvisor
Jennifer_g
Aug 6, 2025
Surf lessons in Waikiki - Our 2 teens had an amazing time learning to surf with Preston, a very kind and seasoned pro who impressed them by his wealth of knowledge and skills surfing while doing a handstand!
Review provided by Viator
Brooklynnr704
May 14, 2025
Unnecessary - When I arrived to Waikiki for the first time there were about 2-4 tents set up with surfboards and people offering lessons. I suggest if needed to book directly with this company, because I had no communication from them through TripAdvisor. Better, just don't book, wait till you're in Waikiki and approach one of the tents on the beach. -Travel Advisor with FORA - brooklynn.ai
Review provided by Tripadvisor
T701aschadc
Jul 18, 2025
No show - kids disappointed - SCAM! Instructor was a no show. The other company operating said he has not been showing up. My kids were so disappointed!
Review provided by Tripadvisor
Martha_d
Jul 12, 2025
Bad experience - Vendor did not show up. Did not respond to calls or texts. Still have not received full refund. Don’t book.
Review provided by Viator
Maisha_j
Jun 21, 2025
Be careful for this activity. - Guide never showed. We waited and then asked one of the other surf schools around and was told that the guide hadn’t been showing up for some time now. Extremely bummed that we didn’t get to experience this.
Review provided by Viator
B5690zhsarahf
May 25, 2025
No show - We showed up to the designated meeting spot 5 mins early and waited around for over 20 minutes and no one showed up. I tried calling thrice and only received the voicemail. We walked to another nearby surf stall and said they haven’t seen any worker from this surf school in weeks and had many other families with no show instructors. I would not recommend booking and I would like my money back.
Review provided by Tripadvisor
Jeanette
May 23, 2025
Terrible experience and nobody respond to your phone call and nobody show up for the lesson - Nobody show up for the lesson and we trying calling and nobody pick up phone. When you booked activity so advance for nobody to show up
Review provided by Tripadvisor
Thaniya_m
May 1, 2025
Terrible terrible terrible - Absolutely unacceptable. Preston (the instructor/guide) never showed up at the meeting point. We called, messaged, and even left a voicemail multiple times—he completely ignored us. This was supposed to be part of our wedding anniversary celebration, and we drove all the way through heavy traffic from Ko Olina to Waikiki Beach for a surfing lesson that never happened. This was a complete waste of our time and a huge disappointment. We wouldn’t recommend Preston or this company to anyone. They are completely unreliable and unprofessional. Even Viator couldn’t get in touch with anyone from the company, which says a lot. We requested a refund, and Viator told us they have to wait for a response from the company. Good luck with that—if they’re ghosting customers, they’re not responding to Viator either. We expect a full refund, immediately. This whole experience was a joke.
Review provided by Viator
From $100
up to 3 guests
1 - Adult
Cancellation: Free cancellation up to 24 hours before the start of your experience (local time).